Hawk Law Group | August 9, 2022 | Georgia Law
Commercial Driver’s Licenses allow people to drive large trucks and other commercial vehicles, such as buses. CDLs are required to drive 18-wheelers, big rigs, tractor trailers, and semi-trucks. The driver must have specialized training and knowledge to operate these vehicles.
There are three types of Commercial Driver’s Licenses In Georgia:
Class A Commercial Driver’s License
A Class A CDL allows the person to operate any combination of vehicles (the power unit and the trailer) when the combined weight exceeds 26,001 pounds and the unit being towed weighs more than 10,000 pounds. Class A CDL holders may operate Class B and C vehicles if they have the required endorsements on their driver’s license.
Class B Commercial Driver’s License
A Class B CDL allows the person to operate single vehicles weighing 26,001 or more, and the unit being towed weighs less than 10,000 pounds. Class A CDL holders can operate motor vehicles within Class C.
Class C Commercial Driver’s License
A commercial driver’s license permits a person to operate a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver. Also, the person can operate a vehicle used to transport hazardous materials when the quantities require placarding.
What Are the Qualifications To Receive a Commercial Driver’s License in Georgia?
You can obtain a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) in Georgia if you are 18 years old or older and meet all requirements for the license. However, some restrictions exist for drivers under 21 years old with a CDL. You must have a Class C Georgia driver’s license to apply for your Commercial Driver’s License.
Beginning February 7, 2022, all entry-level drivers must meet the requirements of the FMCSA Entry-Level Driving Training regulations. The FMCSA guidelines apply to:
- People who apply for a Class A or Class B Commercial Driver’s License for the first time
- People who want to upgrade their existing Class B Commercial Driver’s License to a Class A Commercial Driver’s License
- Obtain an endorsement on their Commercial Driver’s License for passengers, school buses, or hazardous materials for the first time
All entry-level drivers must complete the training before they are allowed to take the Skills Test or H Endorsement Knowledge Test for a Georgia Commercial Driver’s License. Drivers must use an approved training provider. They must provide an instructional permit dated at least 14 days before applying for their Georgia CDL.
Georgia CDL drivers under 21 years old may only drive a commercial vehicle intrastate (inside Georgia only). After the driver turns 21 years old, they can apply to have the “Georgia Only” restriction removed from their CDL.
The Commercial Application Fee is $35, which must be paid when you file your application. The fee is waived for school bus drivers and veterans who have the required waiver. You have four test attempts. If you do not pass within four attempts, you must file a new application and pay another fee.
You may also need to provide your Medical Certification to obtain your CDL. It depends on whether you drive interstate or intrastate and whether you fall into an excepted category.
Medical Certifications are required for non-excepted drivers. Unless one of the following exceptions applies, you are a non-excepted driver of you:
- Drive a school bus
- Transport for a political, state, or federal government subdivision
- Transport sick or injured persons
- Only occasionally transport personal property for personal use
- Transport human corpses
- Drive a 9 to 15-passenger van that weighs less than 26,001 pounds
- Drive a rescue vehicle or fire truck
- Operate a non-combination vehicle operated and controlled by a farmer that does not transport hazardous materials
- Drive for custom farm harvesting operations
- Transport migrant workers
- Provide emergency delivery of propane
- Are a Beekeeper who transports bees seasonally
Medical Certificates may be submitted online, faxed, or mailed to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. They may also be submitted in person at a customer service center. Self-certification documents may only be submitted in person at a customer service center.
Why Are There Stricter Requirements for Commercial Truck Drivers?
Truck drivers require additional training to prepare them for the challenges of driving a commercial motor vehicle. Training helps reduce the risk of truck crashes. Unfortunately, driver negligence and negligence by trucking companies continue to contribute to the cause of truck accidents.
Commercial trucks are involved in catastrophic accidents. These large, extremely heavy vehicles cause devastating injuries and traffic fatalities.
In 2020, 4,965 people were killed in large truck accidents. Eighty-four percent (84%) of the people killed in truck crashes were people in other cars or non-occupants (i.e., pedestrians and cyclists). Additionally, 146,930 people were injured, with 68% of the injured victims being occupants of other vehicles.
An experienced truck accident lawyer helps victims recover the compensation they deserve for economic and non-economic damages. Truck accidents are incredibly complex accident cases. Therefore, it is wise to seek legal advice as soon as possible.
Contact the Car Accident Lawyers In the Central Savannah River Area at Hawk Law Group for Legal Assistance Today
For more information, please contact the car accident lawyers at Hawk Law Group at our nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve throughout the Central Savannah River Area and it’s surrounding areas:
We also serve in Edgefield County, SC.