Have you recently been injured in a hit and run car accident in Augusta, GA? Don’t hesitate to call Hawk Law Group for help. You may have the right to compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering – even if the hit and run driver can’t be found. Our Augusta hit and run accident lawyers will fight to make sure that you get the money you deserve.
For decades, Hawk Law Group has been a fierce advocate for crash victims and families in Augusta, Georgia. Our results speak for themselves. We’ve successfully won hundreds of millions of dollars in settlement agreements and jury verdicts for our clients.
Now that you’ve been hit by a driver who fled the scene, we’re here to help you make things right. Contact our law office in Augusta at (706) 722-3500 to schedule a free initial case evaluation to learn more. Our team is standing by 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to take your call.
Table of Contents
How Our Augusta Car Accident Lawyers Can Help You After a Hit and Run
Car accidents can be tough enough when everyone involved stays at the scene. But when the responsible driver speeds away, things can get really stressful. And even though they say that they’re on your side, insurance companies aren’t. They’re more interested in profits than making sure that you’re taken care of.
Fortunately, a team is ready to stand up and fight for you: Hawk Law Group.
Our Augusta car accident attorneys will aggressively pursue maximum compensation on your behalf while you focus on getting better.
- Independently investigate the hit and run car accident
- Work to determine the identity of the hit and run motorist so that they can be held accountable
- Review reports and evidence obtained in an official investigation conducted by local, county, state, and/or federal law enforcement agencies
- Gather evidence, including witness statements, videos and photographs, physical evidence from the scene, and medical records
- Determine who, other than the hit and run driver, could be at fault
- Seek damages from insurance companies (yours and/or someone else’s), the hit and run driver, and any liable third parties on your behalf
We’re tough negotiators with tried-and-true strategies. However, our Augusta hit and run accident lawyers are also unafraid of the courtroom. Our trial attorneys are well-known and respected in Augusta, and they’ll be ready to bring your case to a jury if you aren’t offered a fair settlement.
We work on contingency, so there’s no cost to you unless we win your case. Give us a call or reach out to us online to learn more.
What Is a Hit and Run Car Accident?
In Georgia, drivers are required to stop and remain at the scene of an accident (or return to it) if it results in:
- Death, or
- Damage to a vehicle.
Leaving the scene violates O.C.G.A. 40-6-270 and is considered a “hit and run.”
If you’re in a car accident, you don’t necessarily have to stay in your vehicle or at the specific location where the crash occurred.
You are permitted to:
- Seek emergency medical attention, or
- Move to a close, safe location while waiting for the police to arrive.
A hit and run is a crime in the state of Georgia. It can also make a car accident claim for damages really complicated – especially if the motorist takes off before anyone is able to get their information or see their license plate.
Driver Requirements After a Car Accident
You don’t just have to stay at (or near) the scene of a car accident.
Drivers are also required to:
- Provide their name, address, and vehicle registration information
- Show a valid driver’s license to other motorists, if it’s requested
- Help other victims secure medical attention – either by calling for help, driving them to the hospital, or arranging transportation
Leaving the scene before fulfilling all of these requirements can also be classified as hit and run behavior.
How Common Are Hit and Run Car Accidents?
Every year, there are hundreds of thousands of hit and run car accidents nationwide. In fact, on average, a hit and run crash happens once every 43 seconds.
Many hit and run car accidents result in serious injury and, in some instances, death. In 2019, there were at least 1,939 fatal hits and run car accidents reported in the United States.
According to one source, Georgia ranked 7th in terms of hit and run crashes. In 2019, 3 percent of all car fatal accidents in the Peach State were caused by hit and run drivers.
How Do I Get Compensation After a Hit and Run in Augusta?
There may be a few ways for you to recover compensation after a hit and run collision in Augusta, Georgia.
Sue the Hit and Run Driver
If the driver is located and determined to be at fault, you can seek damages directly from the hit and run motorist.
File a Claim Against the Hit and Run Driver’s Insurance Company
Georgia has fault-based insurance laws, which means that you can file a claim against someone else’s insurance company if they cause you to get hurt. If the hit-and-run driver is located or if you’re able to get their insurance information, you can submit a claim to their carrier.
Tap Into Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM) Benefits
If you added uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage to your car insurance policy, it could offer important benefits after a crash with a motorist who fled the scene. You can file a claim with your insurance company and recover money to cover your expenses and help you get back on your feet.
Seek Damages From a Negligent Third Party (or Their Insurance Company)
It’s possible that the driver who fled the scene isn’t at fault. Or, it’s possible that they’re just partly to blame. Either way, you’re entitled to seek damages from anyone who contributes to your hit and run car crash in Augusta.
This might include:
- Negligent motorists, bicyclists, pedestrians, or truck drivers
- Mass transit companies
- Government agencies
- Employers of at-fault drivers
- Property owners
Don’t try to navigate these complicated liability issues on your own. Our Augusta car accident attorneys will be there to identify all potential avenues for financial recovery for you.
How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit After a Hit and Run Car Accident in Georgia?
Georgia has a two-year statute of limitations that applies to most personal injury claims. Typically, the clock begins to run the date of a crash.
However, things may be different in a hit and run case.
In order to ensure that victims have every opportunity to recover compensation, the statute of limitations may be tolled (or paused) for a period of time.
Tolling can occur if:
- The victim is a minor
- The defendant (hit and run driver) leaves the state or can’t be located
- The identity of the hit and run driver isn’t clear
- There’s a related criminal investigation or case that’s pending
The statute of limitations will begin to run whenever the tolling factor – the thing that’s causing the case to be put on hold – is no longer a problem.
So, if you’re hit by someone and they aren’t identified until six months after your auto accident, the statute of limitations wouldn’t begin to run until six months after the crash.
You do not want the statute of limitation to expire without filing a claim. If you do, you’ll give up the right to recover compensation from those responsible.
The best way to protect your rights is by enlisting the help of our experienced Augusta personal injury attorneys after your crash. Don’t hesitate to give our compassionate personal injury and wrongful death attorneys a call immediately. We’ll be standing by to take your call.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation With a Trusted Augusta Hit and Run Accident Lawyer
When you’re the victim of a hit and run car accident in Augusta, you deserve to be compensated. While the driver may ultimately be charged with a crime, that won’t help to ease your financial burdens. Fortunately, you have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit and seek damages for your medical bills, lost wages, and the pain and suffering you’ve experienced.
Hiring an experienced Augusta hit and run lawyer will level the playing field. With Hawk Law Group, you’ll also give yourself the edge you need to win.
Give our law office in Augusta, Georgia, a call to learn more. We offer a free, no-obligation case evaluation and are ready to help you fight for the compensation you deserve today.