Hawk Law Group | July 19, 2023 | Car Accidents
If you are in a car accident, you should check for injuries and seek medical attention immediately. You should also exchange contact information with the other driver and insurance information if the driver has it.
If the driver does not have insurance, you should still provide them with yours. Remember, when taking pictures and videos of the accident scene, to also take pictures of the uninsured driver’s vehicle and license plate.
Georgia law requires all drivers to have liability insurance in order to drive legally in the state. Liability insurance protects you from being solely responsible for paying damages to another driver and provides you with legal help if someone makes a claim against you.
Despite the law, 12.4% of motorists are uninsured in Georgia. If you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance, your own uninsured motorist insurance policy will protect you from incurring the total cost of damages.
Cost of Car Insurance in Georgia
The average rate for car insurance in Georgia is $1,416 per year, which is below the national average. To be in compliance with Georgia law, you must have bodily injury liability coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident.
Georgia law also requires you to have property damage liability coverage for at least $25,000 per incident. Car insurance is a small price to pay in comparison to the damages you could have to pay if you are driving uninsured and get into a car accident.
What To Do if You Are Hit by an Uninsured Driver
If you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance, there are several things that you can do to protect yourself in this situation.
The following are steps to take if you are hit by an uninsured driver:
- Contact the police and obtain an official accident report.
- Exchange contact information with the other driver and get any witness statements.
- Take your own notes about what occurred at the accident scene, the weather conditions, and note any injuries or property damage.
- Look at your own insurance policy to see if you have uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage allows you to file a claim with your own insurance company to receive compensation.
- Contact a qualified personal injury attorney to help you file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company. Your own insurance company may want to dispute your claim, and consulting with an attorney can help you get the compensation that the policy provider is trying to deny.
- If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, you should look into whether or not the other motorist really is uninsured. A personal injury attorney can help you investigate an insurance company’s denial of coverage.
- Do not provide a recorded statement to an insurance company without first consulting with a personal injury attorney.
- If coverage is denied by the insurance company, request that the denial be sent to you in writing. You can then provide the written denial to your insurance company if you have uninsured motorist coverage.
- You can file a lawsuit against the uninsured driver for damages, but it may be difficult to actually receive compensation.
If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, you should contact your insurance company to add it to your policy as soon as possible. If you do find yourself in an accident with an uninsured driver, contacting a personal injury attorney can help you navigate the difficult process of recovering compensation for the harm that you suffered.
Contact the Car Accident Lawyers In the Central Savannah River Area at Hawk Law Group for Legal Assistance Today
For more information, please contact the car accident lawyers at Hawk Law Group at our nearest location to schedule a free consultation today.
We serve throughout the Central Savannah River Area and its surrounding areas:
We also serve in Edgefield County, SC.